Who's Who

University of Sydney takes title for 2018 Australian Universities Crops Competition

From left to right: GrainGrowers' CEO David McKeon, 2nd place winner Jeremy Prananto, 1st place winner Annie Rayner, 3rd place winner Jono Moore and GrainGrowers' Chairman John Eastburn.

The team from the University of Sydney has won 2018’s title at the 2018 Australian Universities Crops Competition (AUCC) held in Temora, New South Wales. This event brings together the brightest and best agricultural students from across Australia and the United States.

The University of Sydney took a clean sweep with all top three individual category winners. In first place Annie Rayner, second place was awarded to Jeremy Prananto and third place was Jono Moore.

[ctt template=”1″ link=”HU07f” via=”yes” nofollow=”yes”]University of Sydney takes the title for the 2018 Australian Universities Crops Competition [/ctt]

In the team category, the University of Sydney claimed first prize, followed by Charles Sturt University and in third place Kansas State University.

The AUCC is an annual initiative of national grain farmers’ representative body, GrainGrowers. The competition puts tertiary agricultural students together in the field and tests their knowledge and skills through a mixture of theory and hands-on tests, covering agronomics and farm business management. It is designed to give the students’ in-field experience but of equal importance, assist in building their networks with peers from across the country and internationally.

GrainGrowers CEO David McKeon says the competition is always a valuable learning opportunity for the university students. Now in its tenth year, the competition continues to go from strength to strength, shaping future leaders. It’s the only such competition in Australia and is unique internationally.

As part of 2018’s event, a careers expo continued the strong emphasis on building careers post university degrees, including a workshop on creating a CV and interview techniques for the students.

“Connecting students with grains industry representatives and developing career pathways and opportunities are critical to equip them to make the most of opportunities after their studies,” Mr McKeon said.

Amidst the gruelling exam timetable was some time for the students to unwind. Teams had to complete several tasks that included the most appropriate way to treat a snake bite, bringing a billy to the boil and hand grinding flour from grain.

The winners from 2018’s competition will have the opportunity to compete in the Collegiate Crops Judging Contest in Kansas City and Chicago in mid-November 2018, supported by GrainGrowers.

AUCC is part of GrainGrowers’ commitment to fostering skills development and leadership capability in the Australian grains industry.

A special thanks to our gold sponsor, GRDC, together with Kalyx, Delta Agribusiness, Landmark, AusWest Seeds, Temora Shire Council, and Agricultural Societies Council of NSW. The competition’s success to date would not have been possible without their support.

2018 Competing Universities:

  • Curtin University, WA
  • La Trobe University, VIC
  • University of Sydney, NSW
  • Charles Sturt University, NSW
  • University of Western Australia, WA
  • Kansas State University, US
  • Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (Virginia Tech)
  • University of Minnesota Crookston, US
  • Iowa State University, US

Top 3 Individual Winners

  1. 1st place – Annie Rayner, the University of Sydney
  2. 2nd place – Jeremy Prananto, the University of Sydney
  3. 3rd place – Jono Moore, the University of Sydney

Top 3 University Winners

  1. University of Sydney, NSW
  2. Charles Sturt University, NSW
  3. Kansas State University, US

Source: GrainGrowers

Featured Image: From left to right: GrainGrowers’ CEO David McKeon, 2nd place winner Jeremy Prananto, 1st place winner Annie Rayner, 3rd place winner Jono Moore and GrainGrowers’ Chairman John Eastburn.  

Leave a Reply